National Center for Microbiology

The group is constituted by researchers from the Centro Nacional de Microbiología (bacteriology) of the Instituto de Salud Carlos III, the Spanish Agency for Medicines and Health Products, and members of the University Hospitals Puerta de Hierro and La Paz, all of them located in Madrid.

The group is made of specialists on microbiology, infectious diseases, epidemiologists and pharmacists; its main areas of work in REIPI are antibiotic resistance, nosocomial infections, antibiotic use at the community and hospital settings, and organization of efficient programs for the appropriate antibiotic use (stewardship).

Group Coordinator

Dr. José Campos Marqués